Tuesday, January 30, 2007

My stash

I decided to do a little inventory today.


I've come to the conclusion that I don't have enough yarn.


Nope. Not nearly enough.


Really, how can any self-respecting crafter survive with so little yarn?!? Seriously. (This really isn't even all of it. I have more in various bags and satchels for projects in the works.)

Monday, January 29, 2007

Sweater Socks

Okay, so many people seemed interested, so here are the sweater socks I'm working on. I like to work toe up on long socks, because you can try them on as you go and get a perfect fit.


Here you can see how long they are already. I'm thinking of frogging back a little, because, since I've been working out my calves are a little bigger. Now the socks are a little tighter than I like around my calves. I think if I frog back a few inches and then go up a needle size they'll be more comfortable.
It's hard to tell in this pic, but these are the arch ribs. I have very defined arches, and I find socks to be much more comfortable if I put a 2X2 rib for about 2 inches right on the arch. This way, they don't bag in the middle of my foot or slide around. I like my socks to be a little tight.


Ignore my cabbage patch knees, and the blinding white skin. This is the sock from the top down. Coming along nicely, if I do say so myself!

Homemade sewing dummy

Okay, before you think I cheated, I DID take these yesterday. I thought I posted them yesterday as well, but when I looked today, for some reason this post was in the "Draft" folder. Erg.


Anyway, this is a sewing dummy that I made. It's modeled after my exact body dimensions. They are really easy to make, although it takes some time. I just put on a tight fitting t-shirt (over a bra, that's important), and covered myself with duct tape. I then cut the duct taped wrapped t-shirt off of me, sealed up the cut, lined the bottom with cardboard and stuffed it with polyfill. Oh, also, I put a hanger in the top so I can hang it up.



This is it from a side view. I named her Headless Betty. I took Betty's measurements right after I made her, and they matched my own perfectly. I took my new measurements today, and Betty is now a little bigger than I am around the hips. That seems to be the only place I'm losing yet. I guess, eventually, I'll have to make a new Betty, since this one will be too big. Maybe I'll keep her around to remind me of what my body used to look like!
Posted by Picasa

Saturday, January 27, 2007

Belly-dancing

Today, Andrea took me to a belly-dancing workshop.

This is Andrea and Christine, one of the instructors, doing a demonstration routine.

Here is the group, doing our routine together. I hate my belly. Got to work on that.


I don't think I look half bad in this one. I guess I must be sucking in or something. Hopefully, if I keep working on it, I'll be able to lose that gut!
Posted by Picasa

Friday, January 26, 2007

Blah.

I'm not feeling all that spiffy today. I'm tired and grouchy and I had a bad day. I work in ad services and it's nearly Superbowl Sunday... you do the math. As a result, I don't think I feel up to going out tonight.

But, I couldn't skip a day on my challenge, so here's a picture of my newest toy. I bought this cheap student model guitar a week or so ago, and just got it the other day. I'm surprised at how good it sounds, actually. And, I love the color! It matches my hair! I really like the way this picture picked up the color tones. I started to take that glare out, but I kind of like it. It reminds me of those cheezy commercials where someone smile and thier teeth flash at you. Ding!
Posted by Picasa

Thursday, January 25, 2007

Dinner and Games!

Tonight, just as I was pondering what to feed myself, Jesse called and invited me to dinner. He and Steph had been grocery shopping all afternoon, and decided on the spur of the moment to cook dinner and have some friends over.

Here is Jesse, actually cooking! Well, okay, he's just mixing up a salad, but hey, it's a start.



This is Jesse and Megan, one of the other friends that was there. After dinner (which was delicious, by the way) we played Scattergories, and it was hilarious. Megan is Lebanese, and when we had "L" for the letter, and the catagory was Countries, she completely blanked out. I don't think Jesse will ever let her live it down. I didn't get any pics of the other people that were there.
Posted by Picasa

Wednesday, January 24, 2007

Snow!

I got out in the cold early before work this morning and took these just for David (not the least because I think he's the only one reading these).


It snowed today! It was the first time that it actually stuck at all. Everything was so white and beautiful this morning.

These are outside of work. I wish I was a little kid; I would have really appreciated this snow. It was fluffy and sticky, perfect for snowballs and snowmen. Not good, however for getting off your car when you haven't thought to get a scraper yet. I had to start the car, then go back inside and dig around until I found the old scraper. I'm glad we didn't throw that one out, I would have really been screwed as there was at least an inch and a half on every surface of the car. It was all completely gone by lunch, though.
Posted by Picasa

Tuesday, January 23, 2007

E-Date

Only one pic today.

This is a shot of my e-date with David tonight. I'm a little disappointed, because I was hoping you could see the text. He's saying "Anything coming out for 360 anytime soon that looks good?" I thought it was hilarious. You can take the man away from his games, but you can't take the gamer out of the man!
Posted by Picasa

Monday, January 22, 2007

Another inside day

Another day that I just stayed in. So, I too a few pix around the apartment again.


Here is one of my candle holders, with the flash on. After I took it, it didn't look as pretty as it did when I was just looking at it...


...so I took it without the flash. Cool effect, no?


And, now for something of David's that I like. This is his gnome. His name is Kritzkin. He pretty much rocks. And that is all for today!
Posted by Picasa

Sunday, January 21, 2007

Some artwork

Today, I decided to take a few pictures around the apartment.

I'm pretty proud of this. It's a peice of artwork I did to brighten up my apartment. I bought a bamboo shade from Wal-mart, some asian stencils, chopsticks, and natural paper. It took me a few hours to alighn the peices and paint the chopstick and the stencils along the top. It's hanging on the upper half wall overlooking the living room. (I live in a loft.) I get a lot of compliments on it, and I think it fits really well in my home.

This is a picture of the inside of my refrigerator. (Couldn't have figured that out on your own, huh?) As you can see, I'm working towards healthier eating choices. It's not as hard as I feared to make good choices when I'm at the grocery, the trouble comes when I'm out and have to avoid the fast food.

This is another peice of artwork I did a long time ago. It's done in soft pastels on canvas board. I used a wet brush to soften the effects of the pastels' colors. I haven't found a frame for it yet, or a place to hang it. I've thought of selling it, but I wouldn't even know where to start. Maybe eBay?
Posted by Picasa

Girl's Night Out!

So, these are yesterday's photos. I don't really have any trouble taking pics each day, but there are some days I can't get to the computer to post them! Last night I went out with 'the girls' to have dinner, see a movie and get some drinks. We went to see Pan's Labyrinth, and it was INCREDIBLE! One of the most fascinating and horrifyingly beautiful movies I've ever seen. I would warn you, however, if you have a weak stomach, stay away. There were a few scenes that I might never get out of my mind.

On the fashion front, I put my hair up last night. Hooray! It's long enough to put up! I bought these adorable metal chopsticks that have dangling stars on them. It came a little loose later in the evening, but I can't tell you how excited I was to be able to get it up at all.


Here are two of the girls I went out with last night. The sexy one is Adrianne, and the cute one is Cloe. Chloe's a bit of a party-pooper, so after dinner, we took her back home and left her there so we could enjoy the rest of the evening without her crying and whining. What a drama queen! The other friend that went with us last night was Val. I tried to get a picture of her too, but she doesn't show up on film.
Posted by Picasa

Friday, January 19, 2007

Photo Journal #4

Another day, another dye job. I went to Hot Topic and got some Special Effects dye (which I know to be good) and did my hair yet again. I like the way the colors from before left subtle streaks. It's really much brighter and purpler in person than in these pics.


Here is Mr. Cowboy. David brought him home one day, and insisted we leave it out where it could be seen and 'appreciated'. Apparently, Mr. Cowboy used to belong to David's Grandpa, and is therefore special. At first, I hated him and thought he was ugly and tacky. But now, I kinda like him. I could have put him away now that David is out of the country, but I don't really want to now.


And, finally, here is Persia, chilling in the sink. She's got this thing where she won't let me do anything unless she's right by my side, so while I was trying to take the previous pictures, she was all up in my way. I went to the restroom, and she made herself comfortable in the sink. It was so cute, I had to get a picture!

Posted by Picasa

Thursday, January 18, 2007

Photo Journal #3

Okay, here are the pics for today. I decided to get a good picture of my newest pride and joy on here today. This is my fiddle, which I am currently learning how to play thanks to the guys at MusicMoose.org. If there's an instrument you want to learn, check them out!


As mentioned, this is my fiddle. I think she's beautiful. She came with the hard case, which I much prefer over the newer soft cases since I'm a bit of a clutz. I also have a guitar on the way soon, which I will also be learning from MusicMoose.org. By the time David gets home, I just might be a real musician!


Ignore the fact that I need to wash my hair; instead take note of the ridiculous amount of fading here. I worked so hard for these cool stripes of alternating color, and not 3 days after it was done, they all blended together and faded to this nasty olive-blue color. I'm going to get some good dye this weekend and do it again. I will never buy Color Jamz hair dye again!

Joni's Birthday

Okay, these are actually pictures for yesterday. Later I will post for today. Just because I'm a day late, doesn't mean that I've already failed my challenge! I was out of town last night, and not near a computer. Yesterday was my sister's birthday and we went to her favorite pub in Richmond.


Here is the cake I bought her. She was already pretty tipsy, and got way too excited over the roses on the cake.


We tried our hand at some darts, and even though it was the first time she played for real, she beat me! By the way, isn't she cute? My sister's a hottie!



After many, many Jager Bombs, she confided in me that she felt the urge to "grab that guy's crotch". 'That guy' turned out to be one of those creepy Halloween candy butlers. He does look rather surprised and somewhat pleased, doesn't he?



And this is how every birthday should end. Passed out on the bar with a tiny smile on your face.

Happy Birthday, Joni!