Saturday, March 20, 2010

I Am A Zombie

So, tonight, David had to go sleep. For SCIENCE!!! Ahem. He had to go take part in a sleep study, to determine if he has sleep apnea. So, I was off to entertain myself. Kailen notified me yesterday about an event going on tonight at Waterfront Park. It's called Zombies Vs. Humans. The game starts with everyone as humans with cards to designate this. One person is randomly selected to be "Patient 0", the original zombie. They must tag the humans to turn them into zombies and take their Human Cards for experience. The humans can use a wide variety of Nerf weapons to stall the zombies, who must freeze for 3 minutes when hit. The zombies have to "feed" (tag) on a human once every 30 minutes or they starve to death. So how did it play out?

Well, we sucked. LOL. Now, it was completly unrealistic, since by the rules of the game, we were confined to a large open feild, and couldn't drive off or hide out in buildings for safety. Still, the humans were unorganized and panicky. When zombies would start heading for the group of survivors, the survivors would foolishly split and run in all different directions immediately. EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. Even with military guys barking orders, and pre-planning sessions, and endless ammo, the humans would just all split and run right away. It took about an hour and a half for nearly all the humans to be zombiefied. It was obvious that the organizers didn't expect it to go so quickly, so they called for a reset. Anyone who wanted to rejoin the ranks of the living were given the chance to do so, and new parameters were given, and all players were 'gently reminded' of the rules. (There was quite a bit of cheating.)

Round two lasted a shorter amount of time than round one. Of course, that could be because there were many more zombies from the start. After running around for over three hours, we were all exhausted, thirsty and hungry. So, we headed off to Tumbleweed for dinner. As I feared, the stupid place didn't have anything I could eat. They used to have a pretty decent vegetarian selection, but I was left with a choice of either a cheese enchilada (I'm also lactose intolerant, so that much cheese is a bad idea) or a bean burrito, which didn't sound good at all. It really pisses me off that restaurants do this. I mean, I know I can ask for any of the "normal" stuff, and request that they leave the meat off, but then they charge me the same price for half the food, and it's never as good or as filling as something intended to be vegetarian in the first place. So, I just had chips and queso.

The brains were better. :)

No comments: